Knitting and gardening are progressing

February 9, 2009 at 10:12 am Leave a comment

I have not spoken about my garden and veg patch for a while; springtime is almost here and my hands are starting to get dirty of soil again for the new season.

Over the last few weeks I have done some weeding in the flower beds at the front of the house, cleaned the strawberry plants and pruned various flowers. I have also done some jobs I should have done in October, such as spreading manure on everything, from the asparagus to the strawberries, all the flower beds and around the various plants. Lots of my bulbs have started to come out already and, as the manure was fresh, I do hope the green tender shoots do not get ‘burnt’.

I still have various sacks of manure I have collected from a nearby farm to put to mature so that I can spread it on the veg patch and rotivate into the ground in April.

The winter lettuces are just forming their heads and I will soon be ready to pick them … delicious!

Knitting is also progressing.

The current project is the *cashmere ribbed hat* for my husband. As I do not have round needles in the correct size I have started straight away on DPS and it is becoming a very slow project!

Also, I have had to undo it a few times as I kept making it too big … now I am a bit worried it will be a bit too small!

Entry filed under: Garden, ribbed hat, Veg Patch. Tags: , .

Beret, Bolero and new hat The ribbed hat is progressing … very slowly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

30 Something Italian living in England with a passion for bikes, knitting and gardening - 2008 was the first year of our veg patch!

Very happily married, no children (as yet) with 2 dogs and 3 cats.

Find me on ravelry-beta-logo-2
Inglesina94

Found out more ... All content is copy right 2008- 2009 R. Colla, all rights reserved. Please ask before using any of my photographs.
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds


